Get In TouchSchedule a Consultation
The Manassas Law Group, PC
9255 Lee Avenue
Manassas, VA 20110
Manassas Law Office Map
Virginia Speeding Ticket Costs
Some consider speeding tickets or other traffic violations common and insignificant. But getting one can actually be pretty scary and stressful. This is especially true if you’ve never had a traffic ticket before. Virginia speeding ticket costs, as well as other types of traffic fines, can vary greatly depending on location and the type of citation you receive. The following is an overview of Virginia speeding ticket costs.
Traffic Ticket Fines in Virginia
No matter how many speeding tickets your third cousin accumulated while drag racing his 2004 Honda Accord, speeding tickets should be taken seriously. Virginia speeding ticket costs can be extensive, as well as points on your driving record.
In addition, if you drive at excessively high speeds, Virginia could also charge you with reckless driving. A reckless driving charge is punishable by more extensive fines and even a jail sentence.
How Much Does A Virginia Speeding Ticket Cost?
Generally, there is a $6 fine for every mile per hour over the speed limit.
If you are speeding in a construction or work zone, that increases to $7. And, if you are in a residential area, the number increases to $8, with an additional $200 in total.
In Virginia, speeding on a highway can lead to fines between $200 and $500.
On average, a speeding ticket in Virginia is going to come with a price tag totaling between $350 and $400 if you include taxes and other fees.
However, you shouldn’t only associate fines with Virginia speeding ticket costs.
Virginia’s DMV Points System
Points against your license are another potential consequence of getting a speeding ticket in Virginia.
Virginia’s DMV operates on a demerit system. Here’s a quick overview: all Virginia drivers start with no points on their record, at 0. For every year of good driving, you can accumulate one positive point. The maximum number of positive points you can accumulate on your license is 5.
However, there is no limit to the number of negative points, also known as demerits, you can accumulate. You receive negative points when you break traffic laws, such as speeding.
Virginia speeding tickets lead to the following DMV demerit points:
- 3 Demerit Points: If you were caught driving between one or nine MPH over the posted speed limit.
- 4 Demerit Points: If you were found driving between ten and 19 MPH over.
- 6 Demerit Points: If you were found driving over 20 MPH over.
So, what’s the big deal? Well, there really isn’t one. This is, unless you accumulate 12 demerits in a twelve-month period, or 24 demerits in an eighteen-month period.
Virginia Driver Probation
The state of Virginia places drivers who accumulate this number of points on a probationary period of six months. If the driver accumulates any more demerits in that probationary period, the state then suspends his or her license for a period of time. The length of time depends on how many demerits they accumulated in the probationary period.
For example, if you are in the six-month probationary period and a police pulls you over for speeding in excess of 80 MPH, you will accrue six more demerits. Your license is then suspended for 90 days, as a consequence. A four-demerit offense will land you without a license for sixty days. Furthermore, a three-demerit offense will result in a forty five-day suspension.
Aside from the six demerit points, if you are driving more than 20 MPH over the speed limit, or if you are driving more than 80 MPH, you could be charged with reckless driving. This is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. This charge could result in fines of up to $2500, license suspension for six months, and a jail term of up to 12 months.
Because of this system, it is important to take every traffic violation seriously.
You should avoid the consequence of the probationary period, if at all possible.
Obviously, Virginia speeding ticket costs add up to more than just a few hundred dollars.
Responding to a Virginia Speeding Ticket
Have you ever heard of anyone going to court over a speeding ticket? Though it’s relatively rare, it does happen, especially when the stakes are particularly high.
Paying a speeding ticket is essentially pleading guilty to the offense of speeding. If you believe that you were not speeding, you have the option of going to court to plead “not guilty”. During this court hearing, you will be able to explain your case. You’ll also hear testimony from the officer who issued you the ticket.
If the judge rules in your favor, you will not have to pay the Virginia speeding ticket costs. But, you may be responsible for court fees.
If the judge finds you guilty, you will be responsible for the court fees, as well as the Virginia speeding ticket costs, and other consequences associated with the ticket. This includes demerit points and increased insurance premiums.
Really, it’s up to each individual person whether or not going to court is worth it to respond to a speeding ticket. Sometimes, the best thing to do is to pay the Virginia speeding ticket costs.
For those worried about demerits on his or her license, they may take a state-approved driving course to increase the number of positive points, by 5.
If you have been charged with reckless in association with a Virginia speeding ticket, it is absolutely in your best interest to speak to an experienced attorney. An attorney who is well-versed in traffic law can evaluate your case and determine your available legal options. They can help you determine your best legal decision going forward.
Contact The Best Speeding Ticket Lawyers in Virginia
Virginia speeding ticket costs can be quite steep. At the Manassas Law Group, our experienced attorneys can evaluate your case, give you an overview of potential consequences, and help drive your case towards the best possible outcome for you.
If you or someone you know is facing extensive Virginia speeding ticket costs, give us a call at 703.361.8246 to arrange a free and confidential consultation. You can also send us a message online.